Michelle, ma belle, sont des mots qui vont tres bien ensembles…

Our assignment: to reflect on another classmates work and ideas by reading through their blog.  I read Michelle’s at mwoshner.wordpress.com and I have to say, it looks very similar to my own.  Overall, I think Michelle has done a great job explaining and elaborating on her ideas.

Michelle and I took this class for the same reasons (blog post 1), and even though our favorite fairy tales are different (mine: Rapunzel, hers: Beauty and the Beast) we both cite Disney as being one of our main sources of fairy tales throughout our childhoods.  Then comes post 2: defining  a fairy tale.  I think Michelle made a good decision in including the definitons of authorities on the subject (Zipes, d”Aulnoy) and then sythesizing them to create her own definition.  It shows that she paid attention and learned from what we read/discussed in class, and was able to adapt it to fit her own learning.

The same goes for post 3: psychology in fairytales.  Michelle very clearly summarizes what Dr. Mazeroff taught; I only wish she had given more of her own opinion on the Freudian and Jungian interpretations of fairy tales.  From her post, it is unclear where she stands, and I would be interested in hearing her opinions.

For the LRRH cartoon post, Michelle definitely blew my own out of the water.  She very clearly explained the meaning of her cartoon and why she picked it, so that I can tell what the cartoon was about even though it isn’t pictured.  And finally, the Beauty and the Beast v. Cupid and Psyche post.  Michelle chose to compare Cupid and Psyche with Straparola’s “The Pig King,” and she does so very well.  I think that she hits all major similarities and differences, and clearly shows the overall links that the two stories hold.

 

Well done, Michelle. All in all, solid work.

Leave a comment