It Could Always Be Worse…

Jewish folk tales are definitely unique.  As we discussed this week in class, they almost always revolve around a Rabbi, who, though not always the protagonist, is always the wise figure or trickster archetype of the stories.  He always manages to outsmart his enemies, no matter what they do to him.

I think my favorite of the Jewish folktales we discussed this week has to be “It Could Always Be Worse”.  I have heard this story before, although I have heard versions with different types of farm animals being brought into the house.  Every time I hear it, I am amused and reminded to be thankful for what I have, since it could, indeed, always be worse.

Leave a Reply

