Spring 2012

I am so thankful that I got to take Folk and Fairy Tales this semester. I enjoyed everything we read and studied (though I wish we had studied Rapunzel!!) I especially enjoyed studying Disney and his versions of fairy tales for my presentation: though I am a “Disney kid” and have grown up loving his tales, I think it is interesting to look back on those things, tempered with the new knowledge that I have about him and his versions of tales like Snow White and Beauty and the Beast.
I think that the most important thing I learned this semester was how to look at these tales with new eyes: how to separate myself from them and pull them apart from different perspectives, whether it be Freudian, Jungian, feminist, religious, etc. By the end of the semester, I found myself doing this on my own when reading for the next day’s class, finding things that I thought were interesting or that I wanted to point out/discuss. I think that this fact alone shows what I learned.

Leave a Reply

